I am a Artist, a Creative Soul and I need to think freely

Interesting article you should read about leaving others free to create in their working environments, especial free spirits and creative types. http://tinyurl.com/7zc9enh 

My last corporate job was with a small law firm. I lasted a year because we were sometimes allowed to play detectives, along with being part paralegals and other interesting trades (I was known for sometimes leaving 9-5 jobs within a few weeks if it felt like serious hell). I sometimes served cease and desist letters to stores selling counterfeit items of our clients. I was asked on many occasions to get legal documents to the judge’s office especially if it was a deadline because I was somehow slick enough to get pass security. I was given the freedom to be me and I loved that part of it. But once I got back to the office, it was boring and self deflating. While on one of my court case filing trips, I stopped nearby in the famous Bryant Park on 42nd in NYC, right across the NYU building where I eventually took Sound Design and Music Supervision courses. It was a surreal day as the sun cracked through the tall trees hovering over the park and steps to where they held the annual VH1 fashion show. It was NYC peaceful to me. I love “people watching.” I watched as people played chess or sat on the green chairs with little green tables. Even the homeless sometimes got in on the action. Diversity is not a bad thing at all. It is off the planet! As I sat on one of the benches, I thought…maybe I should just quit one day and sit on the park and simply feel at peace. A few weeks later, I did exactly what I imagined and ended my relationship with Corporate America. 

I got a B.S degree in Health Administration but I never worked in the heath industry. If I could go back in time, I would’ve stuck to my inner voice and listened to myself and studied music or not stopped at A.S in Liberal Arts and got the B.S in Liberal Arts. I hated Corporate America, I don’t do well listening to people who are sometimes idiots and arrogant! I felt sick and as if I was punched in my stomach almost everyday. I never said anything, I just smiled and went along  and or quietly revolted with a few fellow coworkers. It is the person ‘chilling’ quietly in the back that you should respect in gamesmanship, element of surprise. A decade and more later I am now a more vocal rebel thou still ‘chilled’ in some sense, but warrior mode is in full effect if I need to raise up like a mighty lion. Therefore I left corporate and went into the treacherous world of freelancing; working the “other” jobs in between. A true artist doesn’t talk about his or her other non artistic jobs. If so, he or she might not be a artist. You can be a musician, writer, painter etc…and not be a artist, but an artist represents beyond the field of art. Being an artist is a mind set. We rebel by default, quietly or vocally. We might want to burn down the building if it represents tyranny or we are thinking about it. We don’t do well with playing the “follow the leader games.” People like me would rather walk in the opposite direction if 99% is going in the other direction. We might lead quietly and let the others come along if they want.

When one works for The Corporate System much of the motivation is more external and predestined by man. Sadly, it is by practicality of the fact that you got hired and you are expected to “serve” the master everyday.

Boring and deflating day in day out, you slave away, unless when you are finally on a vacation or you become sick; that is if you are allowed to be sick! The expectation from your boss is that you better show up everyday until you get fired or quit. Life in corporate is all about your boss dangling the celery stick in your face to keep you interested in your 40 boring hours. Better behave and worship him or her as if they are the 2nd coming of the lord or you might not have a job tomorrow.  Can I get a amen or hallelujah. I need to go back to church, I haven’t been in years!  
 
The major flaw with this situation is that it gives the other person power over you, therefore he or she decides your faith. A modern day plantation system.  It is as if you are a robot programmed to show up and do the same thing everyday while you stroke the boss’s ego, brown nose and all that good stuff. I don’t brown nose, it is already brown by default.

George Lucas said to Oprah, quote and unquote, “he is stubborn as hell and won’t listen to others if he knows what he wants.” He never listened to his father when he told him to not get involved with the arts.  Lucas advice is to not listen to anybody, not even your parents when you know what you want and what you love.

If you are a artist, free spirit, progressive thinker and or tired of monopoly thinking, it is easier to relate! In 2012, yes we can. Let us accomplish our dreams and or at least work towards it. Remember were are from the same TRIBE? You can do it! We can do it! Together!

Are you subscribed to my YouTube channel?
http://www.youtube.com/sounda

Do you want to follow me on twitter?
https://twitter.com/SoundaNation

P.S… I will be presenting Some Off  Planet Activities(SOPA)…Soundtracks next time. I might lightly touch on the other SOPA situation.  The 1% wants to keep power anyway they can.

About soundanation

Sound Designer, Electronic, Experimental, Audiovisual, and Multimedia Artist, with emphasis on Film/T.V and visual mediums. Craig Brown aka Sounda is a former Performance Artist with work featured within Compilation CDs, and tracks licensed for film and TV, just to name a few. My experience with the paranormal and connections to the cosmos, inspired a lot of my work. My goals include pushing the limit of Art through Sound and Music and establishing a strong foundation with my contribution in Film and TV. Favorite Lyric: You are just another brick in the wall by Pink Floyd Activities and Thoughts: Flying, stargazing, battling supernatural forces. There is no such thing as silence, silence has a sound. I am trying to figure out what lies within the 11th Dimension. I wonder if the beautiful ring planet is ready to take me back. Craft: Unidentified.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am a Artist, a Creative Soul and I need to think freely

  1. treespirit11 says:

    I loved to read this Craig!
    As you masterly said “We rebel by default, quietly and vocally”…
    In 2012 we can do, be or have ANYTHING we want. We are powerful beings.
    I’m so happy you left your uggly corporate life behind.

Leave a Reply

